“Even the smallest person can change the course of the future.” – J.R.R.T.

This should be the slogan for the Petite Woman of America. Which probably isn’t a society.

So, here begins what I hope will be a growing (get it? short joke) number of “petite” posts. Not that the posts themselves will be short (well, sometimes they might) but they will primarily be focused on learning how best to dress a petite body. I’m 5’1″ on a good hair day, and have been since I was 12. I’m definitely the runt of my family. I’ve been trying for the last 10 years to learn how to shop and dress to fit my body, and I’m still learning, for sure, but I want to use this blog as a means to push myself to learn more, and share what I learn.

So, just to get these out there, let’s list the Curses of Short People:

  • You can’t function in your kitchen without a step stool and/or you have become very adept at climbing.
  • Your petite jeans are still frayed at the bottom from dragging the ground.
  • You’ll never understand why the “short” sizes are on the top shelf.
  • You don’t really consider using the overhead bins on flights. If it don’t go under the seat, it don’t go.
  • Your size is only sold online.
  • You and crowds don’t get along.
  • You have to take two steps to your husband’s one.
  • Your feet dangle. Always.

If any of these apply to you, please let me know! I’ll feel less alone.

But, on the bright side, let’s list the Blessings of Short People:

  • You can get other people to reach things for you. “Fetch me that pitcher?” Name that movie.
  • You always get a good spot in group pictures.
  • You can wear skirts/shorts/dresses that are too short on other people.
  • You can shop in the girls’ section. I know I’m not the only one who’s done this. It’s cheaper!
  • You can stand up straight under the overhead bin on the plane. Take that overhead bin. Who needed you anyway?
  • You get called “cute” a lot.

I “complain” about it a lot, but I really don’t mind being short. It’s more of a running joke between my 6′ husband and me and I enjoy it. There are definitely some styles that others can pull off that I can’t, and there are certainly times when I wish my legs were more than 4 inches long, but that’s okay. I have learned a ton from Audrey@Putting Me Together (see my “peachy blogs” page) and am able to translate a lot of her tips into my wardrobe, even though she’s not petite. It’s really all about making sure your clothes fit you, and then putting them together is the fun part! I’m excited about this page and hope we all learn a lot!

Have a lovely day,

Petite Peach

short

2009 – Pitiful, no?

One thought on ““Even the smallest person can change the course of the future.” – J.R.R.T.

Tell me what you think!

