My go-to “milk”

BD Almond Milk

A friend of mine asked me last night what my favorite dairy-free products are, so that sparked this post. For many years now I have been figuring that I am lactose intolerant and experimenting with different products to get around that. This girl loves her milk, her cheese, her ice cream … oh, Dippin’ Dots … it’s a problem. I originally tried Lactaid, and used that for a while, but it is still dairy and I still had stomach problems, that I just dealt with for a while.

But, then I married my husband. He’s dairy allergic (his throat swells up when he eats it), so I knew I would have to buckle down on my dairy-free knowledge. The main rule I have learned is:

Don’t try to replace every regular, dairy-full recipe with dairy-free alternatives. You’ll spend a fortune. Find good recipes that are naturally dairy-free. 

Easier said than done, right? It’s a work in progress, but I’ve actually found that I enjoy not paying for all that dairy. It’s not the cheapest stuff!

However, our one consistent dairy-free purchase is Blue Diamond Almond Breeze. It’s soy and dairy free, which I love. The main flavors are Original (Sweetened or Unsweetened) and Vanilla (Sweetened and Unsweetened). They also have Chocolate, which I’ve never tried. J likes Sweetened Vanilla, and I like Sweetened Original. It tastes the most like milk to me.

I still don’t drink it straight like I did milk, but we use it on cereal, in smoothies, and the Original works beautifully in every recipe I need milk for (Vanilla does not. Trust us, we’ve tried. Sweet Vanilla Almond Chicken and Rice Soup was not a hit).

I’ve also tried So Delicious Coconut Milk, which was much too strong for me, and rice milk, which I didn’t enjoy at all. I still miss my real milk, but Almond Milk is a fantastic second choice. Another fun feature is that because it isn’t dairy, it has a much longer shelf life. We never hit the expiration date on these, and when it’s on sale I can stock up.

Speaking of which, it’s on sale 2/$5 at Publix this next week, and some stores have an extra $0.55 coupon! Go try it. It’s normally $3.25 at our Publix, or $2.88 at our Walmart (which doesn’t always have all the flavors in stock).

Have a lovely, dairy-free Thursday!

Lauren

Tell me what you think!

